So why don’t you just elope?

Obviously I don’t want to plan a wedding. So why not just elope?

Believe me, I want to. Well, maybe not quite elope, per se. My selfish dream wedding is me, my guy, our parents and our siblings at the courthouse and a celebratory brunch afterward.

Thing is, though, I’ve never bought into the narrative of “IT’S MY DAY.” And there are dozens and dozens (shit this is gonna get expensive) of people to consider.

There are our parents, who would not like us to elope. There’s my fiance who, truth be told, would not want to elope. And there are aunts, uncles and cousins (the people who RAISED US to be the people who fell in love with each other) who want to be there and totally should be.

So, I am going to suck it up for a year-and-a-half-ish, throw everyone the circus they want and then go on an awesome honeymoon.

Tell me: Did you elope? How did that go over with your family? Mostly just tell me about your awesome elopement, so I can live vicariously through you!

Leave a Reply

